Historical Early Leaders 1925-1940

Historical Early Leaders were instrumental in their dedicated and supportive roles during the first 15 years of the camp, and include, among others, Marie Shaver  (first woman on permanent staff), Ernest Thompson Seton (introduced Lakota Sioux tribal traditions and names),  and Kodaya (poet and philosopher).

Adams, E. Elizabeth “Capt”

Brooks, Earle A.

Doidge, Jenny

Gowdey, M. Agnes “Deejie”

Macaulay, Minnie Maude

Mayer, Herbert

Merrow, Lyford

Palmer, Ruth “Saxie”

Seton, Ernest T.

Shaver, Marie E. “Horace”

Warmingham, Osbert W. “Kodaya”